Top 5 Things That I Really Love About This City

#5 WARM NIGHTS: I’m not a fan of hot weather, but there is something very fun about the evenings and nights here. It doesn’t cool down, but the sun sets, and it’s really exciting to walk around outside and not ever be cold. Bay Area folks know what it’s like to always have to bring a sweater to put on after dinner. Here, no sweater would ever be required (unless the restaurant’s AC is cranked up too high, of course).

Here we are with our friend, Keisuke, in mid-November...in tank tops at sunset!

Here we are with our friend, Keisuke, in mid-November…in tank tops at sunset!

#4 PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION: Even though I have to sardine my way into the train in the mornings if I’m running even just five minutes behind schedule, I think it’s still better than driving a car.

See the train slipping behind the temple? That's the BTS...my primary mode of transport

  See the train slipping behind the temple? That’s the BTS…my primary mode of transport

 

Waiting to shove our way onto the train during the morning rush hour

Waiting to shove our way onto the train during the morning rush hour

#3 BEAUTIFUL FLOWERS are everywhere. They brighten up the streets (and often cover up some of the nasty city smells!). Plus, their ubiquitousness means that I get them from my boyfriend very frequently!

A beautiful selection!

  A beautiful selection!

These greeted me upon my return to our apartment from Vietnam

These greeted me upon my return to our apartment from Vietnam

#2 PUBLIC PARKS are where the life is — at least at dawn and dusk. If you run in Benjasiri Park around 6PM, you’ll be running past a couple hundred people doing a sort of Thai Zumba led by an extremely enthusiastic short-shorts-wearing dude.

You can see the video of this on my Facebook page!

You can see the video of this on my Facebook page!

#1 LAND OF SMILES: There is a well-known tourist-perpetuated stereotype that Thai people smile all the time. I like that many Thai people have told me the same thing, and I’ve found that this generalization is generally true. From the people I work with to the taxi drivers who get me from Mo Chit to Kasetsart everyday to random people on the street, I see a whole lot of smiles!

One thought on “Top 5 Things That I Really Love About This City

  1. These are all the things I love about Thailand also. Definitely the land of smiles 😊and orchids are blooming every where.

Leave a Reply

