Goodbye, Sugar.

So I’ve discovered through trial and error and elimination diets that both my body and mind are intolerant of gluten and very sensitive to sugar. Basically, gluten makes me bloated and anxious (lovely); and sugar makes me…well, crazy. I read a book called The Sugar Addict’s Total Recovery Program by Kathleen DesMaisons because I was noticing myself using sugar to cure homesickness, fatigue, boredom, sadness, and anxiety (and then ate sugar, which causes me to crash really hard, and then the vicious cycle continues!). I learned that sugar addiction is actually  just a symptom of sugar sensitivity. Anyway, the website has lots of info about this. The book seriously SERIOUSLY changed my life for the better!

I am not giving up dessert, but I have completely eliminated sugar from my diet. Bananas are an amazing source of sweetness, but they do not cause craziness like cane sugar, coconut sugar, agave, HFCS, sugar in the raw, brown sugar — you get the idea — do. I’ve been finding wonderful ways to have a little bit of sweetness in my life without the awful effects that sugar has on my body. Here is a recipe I adapted from…hmm now I can’t find it! I’ll link it up once I track it down on Pinterest. Speaking of Pinterest, I did away with my dessert board and started a new one called “No Sugar, But Still Dessert.

*Chocolate-Banana-Almond [very gooey] Brownies 

sugar-free, dairy-free, gluten-free, flourless, soy-free…so what the hell is in it?

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup almond flour

1 teaspoon pure cocoa powder

1.5 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1/3 cup coconut oil

4 really squishy bananas

DIRECTIONS:

1. Mix the dry ingredients in a medium-sized bowl.

2. In a blender or food processor, whirl up all the other ingredients.

3. Pour the liquidy mixture into the dry ingredients, and stir until everything is incorporated.

4. Pour the batter into a greased baking pan, and bake in a 350F oven for about 40-45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. (Check on them, though. I use a toaster oven, so take my temps and times with a grain of salt!)

Slice ’em like brownies, and they’ll be gooey and delicious!

2 thoughts on “Goodbye, Sugar.

Leave a Reply

