Queen Sirikit’s Birthday = Thai Mothers’ Day

It’s August 12, the Queen’s birthday, which is also Mothers’ Day here in Thailand. So first of all, Happy Mothers’ Day to my wonderful mama, Lynda!

Here I am with my mom, my little sister, and my aunt at my best friend's wedding in July!

Here I am with my mom, my little sister, and my aunt at my best friend’s wedding in July!

The royal family is a really big deal in Thailand, and since cultural events always take precedence over academics, it’s no surprise that most of Thursday and Friday of last week were consumed by Mothers’ Day events. Sometimes assemblies at my school are tedious, boring, and seemingly pointless, but I actually really like the Mothers’ Day ones, especially the one that features shows by each grade level.

My homeroom, IP6, performed a poem called “Mother’s Garden” that goes like this:

My mother kept a garden
A garden of the heart.
She planted all the good things
That gave my life its start.

She turned me to the sunshine,
And encouraged me to dream,
Fostering and nurturing
The seeds of self-esteem.

And when the winds and rains came
she protected me enough
But not too much because she knew
I’d need to be strong and tough.

Her constant good example
Always taught me right from wrong,
Markers for my pathway
That would last a lifetime long.

I am my mother’s garden;
I am her legacy.
And I hope today she feels the love
Reflected back from me.

Sweet, right? They dressed as flowers and grass and made themselves look like a garden. The moms loved it! Before all of the performances, kids honored their mothers by kneeling before them and offering them a garland of flowers. The mothers then smother their kids in hugs and kisses; there’s lots tears and lots of smiles, and the whole scene is lovely. It makes me wish my mom was there so I could honor her too!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In art, my grade 2 students did water color paintings of moms with their babies to give to their mothers for Mothers’ Day. They came out super cute…here’s a slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Queen Sirikit’s Birthday = Thai Mothers’ Day

Leave a Reply

