What I’m Looking Forward To…

Going back to North America is bittersweet. Leaving Thailand will be hard, mainly because of the friends we’ve made here. Other than the wonderful people, however, there is a lot of Thailand that we won’t miss (sorry, Thailand!). Here are some things that I am very much looking forward to. This list is in no particular order, except that all of these things come after family, friends, Whole Foods, and the Pacific Ocean:

  • Seat belts. Ah, to hear that satisfying click once again and feel somewhat safe in a quickly moving vehicle!
...and kids will wear seat belts too!

…and kids will wear seat belts too!

  • Tap water. Oh to drink the water that comes out of the faucet without the fear of a stomach bug or heavy metals!
For now, we order Sprinkle water and have a handy little battery-powered pump.

For now, we order Sprinkle water and have a handy little battery-powered pump.

  • Grocery store chitchat. I know I should know more Thai by now, but I don’t, and I cannot wait to say more to the grocery clerk than, “I do not want a bag,” “This is heavy!” and “I do not have a member card.”
Addison caught me chatting with an English-speaking tourist in Vietnam. I get made fun of for making so many 5-minute-friends!

Addison caught me chatting with an English-speaking tourist in Vietnam. I get made fun of for making so many 5-minute-friends!

  • Non-nut healthy snacks. Don’t get me wrong — I love a good nut. But I’m really excited about kale chips and fancy-organic-yet-still-processed-but-not-really-junk-food snacks that don’t have nasty preservatives or added sugars! 
Chips, chips, and more chips...

Chips, chips, and more chips…

  • A stable government. You go right ahead, Americans and Canadians, and complain about your corrupt governments, but I’m going to delight in the lack of attempted coups and shutdown roads!
Sukhumvit, a main thoroughfare through the city, which was closed for over a month straight.

Sukhumvit, a main thoroughfare through the city, which was closed for over a month straight.

  • Cooler weather. I may freeze, but temperatures under 90F sound blissful.
Screen shot taken around this time last year. Gross!

Screen shot taken around this time last year. Gross!

  • Running far outside. I’ve got a treadmill on the 5th floor and a few decent parks to run in, but nothing like the Iron Horse Trail or the Los Gatos Creek Trail or Stanley Park. I can’t wait to train for my marathon out in the fresh air for longer than a few laps around a manmade pond.
A nice path around a pond near Asok -- good for 10K's, but any more than that is BORING!

A nice path around a pond near Asok — good for 10K’s, but any more than that is BORING!

I hope this post doesn’t come off too negative. There are many things to love about Thailand, but there are some magical things I can’t wait to experience again back on my home continent!

Leave a Reply

