Happy International Women’s Day!

Today (Saturday) is International Women’s Day, and I want to take a moment to recognize the inspiring women in my life. From the powerful women in my family (mom, aunt, three awesome sisters) to the inspiring women who have helped me become the teacher I want to be (CRA shout-out!), and my incredible female friends (ALL of you!), I have struck gold in terms of strong female influence. My mother is a feminist who raised my sister and me to be independent, communicative, nurturing women who see through bullshit and stand up for ourselves. And our Aunt Becky is an amazing woman who balances a very successful career, homeownership, friendships, family, and amazing talent. I’m fortunate to have been raised by them, and a father who respects women and sees them as equal to men. I’m also lucky to be marrying a man with female family members who are absolute rock stars in a multitude of ways. Women in my life, I salute you, I thank you, and I admire you all!

Women still have a long way to go before they are considered equal among men, but a lot of progress has been made. Today is a day to remember the fight, to keep up the fight, and to remember those who have fought in the past and those who are fighting today.

“The story of women’s struggle for equality belongs to no single feminist nor to any one organization but to the collective efforts of all who care about human rights” -Gloria Steinem

2 thoughts on “Happy International Women’s Day!

Leave a Reply

